3 hares

"How do you feel?"

I have a friend who invariably asks me if I’m okay, and invariably I say “yes, of course I am.” But seldom is that the entire truth. A lot of the time I feel like I’m chasing my tail … trying but not achieving … wanting but never getting. And I think it’s the same with a lot of us. We have to pull our thumbs out.

I feel like those hares; like the sculptor must have felt as he finished them … though, to his credit, he did finish them.

If I were to shuffle off this mortal coil right now (and I hope I don’t) I have at the very least released an album of music I had a large hand in creating. I’ve finished the rough drafts of five novels and published nearly thirty short stories — yes, yes! On the internet. So what?

Art is all that humanity really is and has. And if you don’t create some you’re missing out, big time! No one wants to turn to dust without leaving something behind for future generations. Do they?

During March I’m editing one of the afore mentioned novels. It’s called ‘Hellion’ and is fantasy … or speculative fiction, or something.  I think it’ll be good. Or worth a read at any rate. Wish me luck; I know I do.

Leave a Reply

