That time of year again

We’re fast approaching November, when, muse willing (or not), I shirk all responsibilty and think about not a lot else than writing 50,000 words.

It’s NaNoWriMo 2011!

The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. I know that 50,000 words actually constitutes a novella but, honestly, that’s splitting hairs. It’s all designed to get your inner Enid Blyton out – or Tom Sharpe, or J.K.Rowling, or whoever you have lurking in there.

Join in – you know you want to!

3 comments on “That time of year again

  1. Bruin Fisher says:

    It’s that time of year again, when my brain turns to porridge and despite my best efforts nothing creative comes out, and yet I still commit myself to putting down 50,000 words of scintillating prose, telling a story of matchless inventiveness and jewel-like precision. How do I get myself into this? Can I get out of it? HELP!

  2. Kapitano says:

    I’m being indecisive about writing. But haven’t yet decided whether to write something about it.

    I think the idea is, you start writing about whatever rubbish is in your head at that moment, and that somehow unlocks your creativity. It’s got to be worth a try.

Leave a Reply

