A train that does …?

What it does no one knows. It trundles along, escapes by a nose.

 

Walking to the shops you have to cross a bridge at the station. This is what I saw parked up there on the Westbound platform. Now, I’m interested in many things, but trainspotting hasn’t been one of them, as yet. To be honest trainspotting (unless it’s of the Danny Boyle variety) will probably never interest me. But a train that is made up of strange looking bits, bobs, and pieces is interesting.

I was, for my sins, going to go and see what it did, but it moved off before I could get there. Fast. Perhaps it knew I was interested and gave me the proverbial finger – I don’t know if trains can be sentient, but it left just after I decided to have a gander.

It looks expensive, too. It has design, it has purpose, and it’s nothing like the cattle trucks we get to stand up in when we save up and buy a ticket. That train has a mission and I would dearly like to know what that mission is. Obviously, it’s not going to the stars, and it’s not on its way to the bottom of the Laurentian Abysmal, or up Everest. But whatever it is it does it might be momentarily interesting. Mightn’t it?

3 comments on “A train that does …?

  1. Bruin Fisher says:

    Isn’t that one of the special nuclear waste transport trains? I suggest you stand naked in front of a mirror with the lights off tonight and check to see if you (or any part of you) is glowing….

    • Nick Calvert says:

      Oh, thank you so very, very much! Any part of me?! Did you forget me big wuss hypochondriac? Now, is it 911 or 999 or ??? ?

      Heaulp me, heaulp me!

      • Bruin Fisher says:

        Breathe into a paper bag…

        Think of the positive side – glowing body parts could be very attractive in the right situation – think dark club dancefloor – and maybe you’ll be able to power your own guitar amp, so you could busk all day in the underpass without a power supply! The potential (AC/DC?) is endless!

Leave a Reply

