Truly frightening.

run away, run away, travel again another day.

 

There are few things that put the fear of god in me. Drunken groups of oiks standing outside pubs at closing time; Chinese takeaway during an H1N1 outbreak; toothache; dirty bombs. You know, the kind of things that any sane person is terrified of. And, of course, then there is the ubiquitous ‘Engineering Works – take the bus’ signs at railway stations. There is nothing worse, especially if you have to travel. It is darkest nightmare become real.

Luckily, today I didn’t have to travel. Today I was on my way to the shop and spotted the sign. Then I saw a herd of poor people standing patiently, like zombies, waitng for a bus that probably wouldn’t arrive. Me, I took the picture and then danced up the road, giggling. I’m at home now. In the warm with the Cat, and a cup of coffee and a cake (that would have cost an arm and a leg at the station even had the buffet been open).

And as I write I’m thinking of those poor misguided people who are, probably, waiting still….

Leave a Reply

