Cold brew and Doctorow.

Cold brew in the fridge. Yum!

When writing a story the least you need is a beginning and an end. The end is easy: it’s this blog entry. But where, oh where to begin?
I was staying at my sister’s in Twickenham a couple of years ago. I’d gone to bed and wasn’t that tired, and as the house is stuffed full of books I browsed the bookcase on the top floor landing. I know, it doesn’t sound like the start of a riveting tale, but it is! It’s a tale that winds up a couple of days ago; yet a tale that will continue for years to come. Intrigued yet?
So. I was browsing the bookcase when I stumbled upon a writer I’d never heard of before. Never, I swear it. Cory Doctorow was the name, and the book was a well thumbed paperback copy of ‘Little Brother.’
I was very tired before I put out the light, and the next morning – a sunday – sitting around the kitchen table with the rest of the family reading the papers, I almost finished it before I had to leave. My nephew – it was his book – leant it to me and, after driving home like a lune, I shut myself away and finished it.
It blew me away.
A couple of days later I read it again.
I meant to give the book back the next time I went up to stay. Honest.
And so I looked into this new favourite author: this Cory Doctorow who had written a book I (still) wish I could have written. And in the looking I found so many new things to get excited about it was almost as good as sex… okay, maybe not that good.
I’d tell you a lot more, but It’s a more fun, and well worth it, if you follow the links and explore yourself.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cory_doctorow
http://www.boingboing.net
http://www.craphound.com

Cory Doctorow has written an awful lot of excellent fiction, and for those of you who are broke/skint/brassic, he has released it all for free under a creative commons licence on his website.

So what’s all this about Cold Press? I hear you wonder.
Well, I love coffee. Yep, I do, and I drink far too much of it. However, until I received an email from TOR a few days ago I had no idea I was missing out, and missing out in a major way.
TOR is a publishing house. They publish books, they don’t deal in coffee – or if they do I’m not aware of it.
Anyway, I got an email ’cause I’m on their list. I wanted to find out about the last book in the Wheel of Time series that is being released in early 2013. You know, The Wheel of Time? A vast series written by Robert Jordan and being finished by Brandon Sanderson. Sigh. So, I’m on TOR’s mailing list and lo and behold I find out that not only has Cory Doctorow written a sequel to ‘Little Bother’ called ‘Homeland’, and it too is being released early next year by, umm, TOR, but … BUT! The first few chapters have been put up on the TOR website to wet and whet the appetite.

http://www.tor.com/stories/2012/07/homeland-excerpt

May I digress? Just once more?
Good.
I’ve been to California. I have good friends living there and they’ve been trying to get me to go to ‘Burning Man’ for the last few years. Sadly – for me, not them – I haven’t managed it, due to lack of finance. But … BUT! The first part of ‘Homeland’ is set at Burning Man. Burning man is a money less event and people barter. In ‘Homeland’ we are re-introduced to Marcus, the heroic protagonist from ‘Little Brother.’ Marcus is now nineteen and the barter goods he has brought to Burning Man are jars of cold brew coffee.
– Phew, I knew I’d get there in the end.
‘Cold Brew what?’ I thought, once I’d re-read the sneak-peak a couple of times.
Cold brew coffee is coffee like you’ve never tasted. Because it’s cold brewed over a long period – 24 hours is best – the flavours haven’t been demolished by heat. You get all the nuances, all the goodness, and a large belt of caffeine, too.
Try it! Cold brew really is fantabulous!

Leave a Reply

