NaNoWriMo day 3

I’m feeling lackadaisical and pursed.

Pursued by this daft ambition to finish 50,000 words in 30 days – which I gleefully signed up for – and a creeping negativity and ambivalence that keeps trying to persuade me to watch TV, have a snooze, or anyone of a thousand other things rather than buckling down to write. I’ve failed twice since I started doing NaNo in 2006 and I’m wondering if this might be number three. After all, aren’t ‘things’ supposed to happen in threes? I seem to be justifying failure before I’ve failed, which is odd. I should be outraged by this lack of oomph.

Honestly, I don’t care. Meh. Either I will or I won’t write, and I’ll find out on 1st December.

Super! Now I’ve got that out of my system I feel so much better. 🙂

Ave.

 

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo day 3

  1. Well, you can always write 50000 words at your own pace 😉 Who cares about NaNo, if you want to write- write when you’re inspired! I feel the same way as you- either I will do it or I won’t. I am just happy I found it because it gave me the kick in the butt I needed to start a novel!

    • NDC says:

      How true! Generally, NaNo’s big fun because you’re fighting against a deadline (albeit artificial), and a deadline can really be helpful.

      But if you want to write – are driven to be a writer – you’ll write no matter what.

Leave a Reply

