NaNoWriMo day 7

Addiction is a terrible thing, especially when it keeps you away from writing. I’m not talking about drugs – though maybe I am as all addiction has to do with Brain chemistry – I’m talking about frittering away time on-line.

Luckily, today’s frittering fix found gold (argh, gold I tell ‘ee) in the form of ‘loglines’.  If you’re a writer loglines are a very useful tool for clarifying your story.

A logline is a short, pithy, outline of your novel (or screenplay). It is short, as in twenty seven words (that’s 27 words for those who have fallen off their chairs in shock). Yes, I too thought it was a ludicrous idea until I tried it. Even if you’re not convinced do have a go, because then you’ll be able to say ‘Na, tried loglines and they did nothing for me, mate.’

This NaNo I’m writing the back half of a novel I started in NaNo 2008. I was having trouble with various elements of the plot until I stumbled upon the logline concept. It took me a while, but I managed to refine the basic premise to 27 words. Now, I’m flying! Okay, so not flying exactly, but my logline has helped.

A day before NaNo I joined a site called Scibophile (fun, free to join, and no, I don’t work for them). It’s a critique site where you crit, get points and spend them getting a crit for your own work. It’s a good concept, but I digress. One of the forums I discovered today was called ‘Loglines’. Here and here is more information.

Here is my 24 word logline – I have three words in reserve:
Unknowingly chased by Nasties across the multiverse Davy has no idea of the trouble he’s in, or the trouble he’s causing his parents’ kindnappers.

Now, I simply must carry on writing … or … maybe I’ll spend another ten minutes frittering. 😉

Ave.

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo day 7

  1. […] – because a sensible fritterer always has cheese on toast – I tried loglines again (see yesterday’s post). As a pantser – one who writes on the fly rather than having a plot to follow – I […]

  2. […] NaNowriMo day 7 (congenerous.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

