NaNoWriMo – fin.

NaNoWriMo? Failed, just short of 30k.

I shan’t batter myself, stand in the corner, sit on the naughty step, or curse my ineptitude and bone idleness. I shall just sniff and say “Meh. Next year, then.” After all, it’s not as if I haven’t ‘made it’ before. I have: several times. I’ve been taking part since 2006 when half of you weren’t even born … so there! 😉

In other news … I joined a writer’s site called Scribophile.com which, though seemingly useful in that it offers peer critique, has a very odd – and expensive – paid version that doesn’t really offer enough to warrant the $9 a month cost. That’s my view, though maybe I’m missing something.

Duotrope.com are going to start charging for their service (for writers searching for publishers) as of the 1st January 2013. I’m miffed, because I’ve only just started using it. However, if it’s as good as I think it is then $5 a month is well worth paying.

There is so much available for free on-line that it is a shock when you have to pay for something – especially when you’re brassic. I gave a little to Wikipedia last week and felt really good about it. That fact that I use the Wikipedia site everyday, and that it is my favoured go-to for info site on the net, didn’t cross my mind. Google is the same: I uses their services shamelessly, yet they’re still ‘apparently’ free. Lucky old us!

Percy, our wonderful black cat, isn’t very well. He seems to have lost his sight and is drinking a lot of water. So it’s off to the Vet tomorrow morning which won’t make him happy – poor chap. It’s odd when you consider how much we love him, and yet in some parts of the world they’d happily have him for dinner. Humans are peculiar creatures.

Ave.

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo – fin.

  1. James Merkin says:

    Don’t you dare beat yourself up over not quite reaching the finish line for NaNoWriMo. It’s the journey that counts, not necessarily the destination (didn’t one of your blokes say something like that once?) Experiencing the intensity of the smoking pen/keyboard and the discipline of sitting your butt before your parchment every day is invaluable. Just keep on doing it, at a little less intensity perhaps.

    Duotrope is an important service, at least for poets, for who can keep track themselves of all the possible markets and sites? Plus their tracking service is a great way to stay aware of what you’ve sent to whom and why haven’t they gotten back to you yet the bastards. I bemoan the cost to keep it up, but I fully realize I’ve had a grand free ride from it up ’til now.

    Sad and sorry about Percy. I suspect diabetes. My 13 year old cat Dooley is in the same state, poor thing. Give him a pat from me.

    Merkin

  2. Idebenone says:

    YouTube is famously reliable for its source pool of hilarious, adorable, and compellingly shareable dog and cat videos. So, with October nearing an end, What’s Trending took the opportunity to compile the best of these furry friends’ costumes for Halloween 2012!

Leave a Reply

